Teaching in our school

Our campuses vary in size and remoteness. Warburton is the largest and the oldest community. School offices are located at Warburton and Warakurna. Three south-eastern communities - Wingellina (Irruntyju), Blackstone (Papulankutja) and Jameson (Mantamaru) - are located reasonably close to another. Wanarn is the most recent community. Tjukurla and Tjirrkarli are the smallest and Kiwirrkurra (located in the East Pilbara Shire) is the most isolated.

While campuses are isolated school staff meet together from time to time, either as a whole staff, in areas of specialisation or geographic clusters, or through inter-campus work shadowing. This enables staff to engage in professional learning and to socialise and relax. In an environment like this, the wellbeing of staff members is an important priority.

We invite you to watch this short film about our school in which staff members talk about what it is like to live and work in the Ngaanyatjarra Lands.View our video

Further details about working in the WA Department of Education's Remote Teaching Service can be found here.